Faffing about in various worlds

This past month I’ve felt kind of lost.  I’ve been roaming around, patching up various MMOs and other games, dipping my toes in but not really feeling that warm sunshiney feeling of true enjoyment in any games I’ve been playing.  I’ve also totally blogfaded as of late, because when I’m not super engaged in a game I end up not wanting to blog much about it.  Alas, it’s about time for a roundup of what I’ve been doing over the past month.

WoW:

Admittedly, I’ve grown a bit bored with the game.  I haven’t really played in a month since I finished all the Love is in the Air achievements for my Love Fool title.  Actually, I spent one night grinding pet battling and ended up getting my first level 25 pet, followed by five others.  But then…I don’t know.  I just haven’t felt super excited about the game and I decided I needed to take a break.  I am currently working on getting my three Hearthstone wins so I can get my Hearthsteed mount.  I’m also still going back and forth on what I want my instant 90 character to be, but I’m leaning toward Hunter.  I haven’t preordered Warlords of Draenor yet, but I will be soon.  I have been feeling a bit more of the “WoW itch” though lately, so I’m sure I’ll be back.

Diablo III:

diablomonk

Like many others, the latest Diablo III patch brought me back to check out the changes.  I made a Monk and she is currently level 23.  I am playing on Hard and aim to finish the campaign and move up to the harder modes.  The game just really aggravates my carpal tunnel for some reason…all that clicking!

Guild Wars 2:

I recently patched up Guild Wars 2 and ended up making a little Charrdian, before going back to my level 25 Human Ranger.  I find the game to be so incredibly beautiful and I *want* to enjoy it, but something about the game just doesn’t catch my fancy. I don’t know what it is.  I think the problem is that it’s been so long since I was playing my Ranger that I forgot what her personal story is, and so I have no idea what’s going on.  And the questing feels so boring now that the lower level zones are so empty.  And my guild is really quiet so there is never any activity happening when I log in. I like to play by myself, but I also really like to talk to other people while I play.  I don’t know, I might just scrap GW2 and stop trying to make it work when it’s obvious I’m not really enjoying myself while I play. But it’s sooooo pretttty. 😉

gw119
Heroes of the Storm:

I just got into the Technical Alpha tonight, and I played the tutorial and one AI game.  So far, I’m thoroughly impressed.  It’s Blizzard, so I don’t know why I expected it would be rough, but it really is polished and beautiful just like all their games.  This weekend I’m going to really dive in and get to know the mechanics.  I’m thrilled to be a part of the alpha so early and hope to stream some of it soon. =)

CaptureOther Games:

That’s certainly not it for me in terms of games played.  I patched up EverQuest and ended up getting my free level 85 heroic character for the anniversary event. I made a Dark Elf Enchanter, logged her in, had no idea what to do or where to go, and logged her back out.  If I were to really come back to EQ (unlikely at this point), I’d want to start over from scratch anyway. But since it’s free for awhile, I decided to make one.  I picked up Titanfall on PC and I’ve been playing it, though I’m TERRIBLE at shooters.  Along those lines, I’ve played a bit of Planetside 2, which I’m getting better at.  I am slowly working on finishing Mass Effect 2.  I patched up LotRO and I’ve been toying around with the idea of stopping in there as well.  I even patched RIFT and logged in, but didn’t play for long before I realized that I’m just not interested in it.  I partook in the Elder Scrolls Online weekend event and I’m still undecided if I’m going to buy it.  Wildstar I’m also on the fence about, though I’ve been in beta for awhile.  I am going to pick one of those two and play it, but I’m not sure which. I’m leaning toward Wildstar because it’s cartoony and I like that over ESO’s art style. But we’ll see.  Knowing me, I’ll pick up both of them and not be playing either of them a week later.

Anyway, that’s where I’ve been.  Playing everything, but not really devoting my time to anything in particular.  Roaming around.  Faffing about.

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

